Visa requirements

EAA and Swiss passports

Holders of an EEA (EU Member States, Iceland, Liechtenstein and Norway) or a Swiss passport do not require a visa.

Note: EU nationals are only required to produce evidence of their EU nationality and identity in order to be admitted to any EU member state. This evidence can take the form of a valid national passport or national identity card.

US, Canadian, Australian, Japanese passports

Nationals of Australia, Canada, Japan and the USA will require a valid passport, but no visa for the purposes of business or tourism for short term stays.

Other countries

List of citizens who require Visa for entry to Germany

Afghanistan, Albania (1), Algeria, Angola, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Bahrain, Bangladesh, Belarus, Belize, Benin, Bhutan, Bolivia, Bosnia and Herzegovina (1), Botswana, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cambodia, Cameroon, Cape Verde, Central African Republic, Chad, China (People's Republic) (2), Colombia, Comoros, Congo (Democratic Republic of the Congo), Congo (Republic of the Congo), Côte d'Ivoire (Ivory Coast), Cuba, Djibouti, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, Egypt, Equatorial Guinea, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Fiji, Gabon, Gambia, Georgia, Ghana, Grenada, Guinea, Guinea-Bissau, Guyana, Haiti, Hongkong (2), India, Indonesia, Iran, Iraq, Jamaica, Jordan, Kazakhstan, Kenya, Kiribati, Korea (Democratic People's Republic), Kosovo, Kuwait, Kyrgyzstan, Laos, Lebanon, Lesotho, Liberia, Libya, Macedonia (1), Madagascar, Malawi, Maldives, Mali, Marshall Islands, Mauritania, Micronesia, Moldova, Mongolia, Montenegro (1), Montserrat, Morocco, Mozambique, Myanmar (Burma), Namibia, Nauru, Nepal, Niger, Nigeria, Oman, Pakistan, Palau, Papua New Guinea, Peru, Philippines, Qatar, Russia, Rwanda, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Samoa, São Tomé and Principe, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Serbia (3), Sierra Leone, Solomon Islands, Somalia, South Africa, Sri Lanka, Sudan, Suriname, Swaziland, Syria, Tajikistan, Tanzania, Thailand, Timor-Leste (East Timor), Togo, Tonga, Trinidad and Tobago, Tunisia, Turkey, Turkmenistan, Tuvalu, Uganda, Ukraine, United Arab Emirates, Uzbekistan, Vanuatu, Viet Nam, Yemen, Zambia, Zimbabwe

1) A visa waiver applies only to holders of biometric passports.

2) A visa waiver applies to holders of SAR passports (Hong Kong and Macao Special Administrative Region passports).

3) A visa waiver applies only to holders of biometric passports (excluding holders of Serbian passports issued by the Serbian Coordination Directorate (in Serbian: Koordinaciona uprava)

How to...

How to apply for a visa for Germany (page of the German Federal Foreign Office)

See also the FAQ page.

Invitation letters

If you do require a visa for your entry to Germany (please see the top of the page for more information), the conference  office can issue letters of invitation. For security reasons, letters of invitation can only be sent to bona fide individuals who have registered for the 2012 conference. You can register here.

Please direct your request for a letter in support of a visa application to Mr Ralph Schaefermeier. Please indicate:

  • Your full name (first name, middle initial, family name)
  • Date of birth
  • Passport number
  • Your (abstract) submission number (if applicable - issued by the EasyChair submission system)


The DEBS 2012 organizers cannot assume any liability regarding the complete- and correctness of the information given on this page. Please contact your local German embassy for more information.